Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Roman Catholic Church of the Archdiocese of New Orleans 

Executive Summary

The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New Orleans is a division of the Roman Catholic Church and is the second-oldest diocese in the United States. The Archdiocese encompasses 8 civil parishes in the New Orleans metropolitan area arid includes 108 church parishes. In addition to the religious facilities of each church parish, the Archdiocese also owns primarily non-religious facilities including school buildings, elderly and disabled persons housing, and charitable assistance buildings. Hurricane Katrina's high winds and flooding caused extensive damage to many of the Archdiocese's primarily non-religious buildings. The Archdiocese accounted for disaster costs on a project-by-project basis, as required. However, the Archdiocese did not always follow federal procurement standards, arid its claim included $520,952 in ineligible costs for markups on contract costs ($510,328) and costs not incurred ($10,624).

Report Number
Issue Date
Document File
DHS Agency
Oversight Area
Fiscal Year