Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Government Website

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Safely connect using HTTPS

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Catholic Church

  • Roman Catholic Church of the Archdiocese of New Orleans 

    Executive Summary

    The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New Orleans is a division of the Roman Catholic Church and is the second-oldest diocese in the United States. The Archdiocese encompasses 8 civil parishes in the New Orleans metropolitan area arid includes 108 church parishes. In addition to the religious facilities of each church parish, the Archdiocese also owns primarily non-religious facilities including school buildings, elderly and disabled persons housing, and charitable assistance buildings. Hurricane Katrina's high winds and flooding caused extensive damage to many of the Archdiocese's primarily non-religious buildings. The Archdiocese accounted for disaster costs on a project-by-project basis, as required. However, the Archdiocese did not always follow federal procurement standards, arid its claim included $520,952 in ineligible costs for markups on contract costs ($510,328) and costs not incurred ($10,624).

    Report Number
    Issue Date
    Document File
    DHS Agency
    Oversight Area
    Fiscal Year